Gold Glove Awards 2023 Finalists, Where to Watch the Gold Glove Awards?

by Manish
Gold Glove Awards 2023 Finalists

The 2023 Gold Glove Awards finalists have been unveiled, and baseball enthusiasts are buzzing with excitement. These awards are a hallmark of defensive excellence in the sport, honoring players who showcase extraordinary skills in catching and fielding. This article provides an in-depth look at the Gold Glove Awards, the finalists, and where you can watch this prestigious event.

What are the Gold Glove Awards?

The Gold Glove Awards are a distinguished accolade in the world of baseball. They are presented to players who exhibit exceptional proficiency in catching and fielding the ball. These awards have a rich history, dating back to their inception in 1957. What sets them apart is the process of selection – winners are handpicked by coaches and managers, individuals who possess an intimate knowledge of the game.

These accolades are not one-size-fits-all; there are separate Gold Glove Awards for various positions on the baseball field. Whether you’re a pitcher, catcher, outfielder, or play other positions, winning a Gold Glove is a testament to being among the best in the business. Recipients of these awards are akin to superheroes on the field, executing incredible catches and thwarting attempts to advance the ball. It’s a means of acknowledging and celebrating their extraordinary talents, making it a prestigious honor in the realm of baseball.

 The 2023 Gold Glove Awards Finalists

The recently revealed finalists for the 2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are creating a stir in the baseball community. These awards acknowledge the cream of the crop in terms of defensive players. In the American League, players from a wide array of positions are in the running, including first base, second base, third base, shortstop, left field, center field, right field, catcher, pitcher, and even the utility position.

The National League shares the same categories, each featuring three finalists. This year’s contenders encompass a mix of seasoned veterans and promising newcomers. Clinching a Gold Glove Award is a momentous achievement in a baseball player’s career, and the winners will be unveiled on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight” in November. The selection process relies on votes from MLB managers and coaches, ensuring that only those with outstanding defensive skills earn this esteemed recognition.

These players represent the epitome of defensive prowess in both the American and National Leagues for the 2023 season.

Here are the 2023 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists by position:

American League:



First Base Nathaniel Lowe (TEX)
Ryan Mountcastle (BAL)
Anthony Rizzo (NYY)
Second Base Mauricio Dubón (HOU)
Andrés Giménez (CLE)
Marcus Semien (TEX)
Third Base Alex Bregman (HOU)
Matt Chapman (TOR)
José Ramírez (CLE)
Shortstop Carlos Correa (MIN)
Corey Seager (TEX)
Anthony Volpe (NYY)
Left Field Austin Hays (BAL)
Steven Kwan (CLE)
Daulton Varsho (TOR)
Center Field Kevin Kiermaier (TOR)
Luis Robert Jr. (CWS)
Julio Rodríguez (SEA)
Right Field Adolis García (TEX)
Kyle Tucker (HOU)
Alex Verdugo (BOS)
Catcher Jonah Heim (TEX)
Alejandro Kirk (TOR)
Adley Rutschman (BAL)
Pitcher José Berríos (TOR)
Sonny Gray (MIN)
Pablo López (MIN)
Utility Mauricio Dubón (HOU)
Zach McKinstry (DET)
Taylor Walls (TB)

National League:



First Base Freddie Freeman (LAD)
Carlos Santana (PIT/MIL)
Christian Walker (AZ)
Second Base Nico Hoerner (CHC)
Ha-Seong Kim (SD)
Bryson Stott (PHI)
Third Base Ke’Bryan Hayes (PIT)
Ryan McMahon (COL)
Austin Riley (ATL)
Shortstop Francisco Lindor (NYM)
Dansby Swanson (CHC)
Ezequiel Tovar (COL)
Left Field Ian Happ (CHC)
David Peralta (LAD)
Eddie Rosario (ATL)
Center Field Brenton Doyle (COL)
Michael Harris II (ATL)
Alek Thomas (AZ)
Right Field Mookie Betts (LAD)
Fernando Tatis Jr. (SD)
Lane Thomas (WSH)
Catcher Patrick Bailey (SF)
Gabriel Moreno (AZ)
J.T. Realmuto (PHI)
Pitcher Jesús Luzardo (MIA)
Taijuan Walker (PHI)
Zack Wheeler (PHI)
Utility Mookie Betts (LAD)
Tommy Edman (STL)
Ha-Seong Kim (SD)

Save the Date: Gold Glove Awards 2023

The anticipation is building as fans look forward to the Gold Glove Awards ceremony. The winners of the 2023 Gold Glove Awards will be announced on Sunday, November 5, at 7:30 p.m. ET. These awards are of paramount importance in the world of baseball, celebrating the best defensive players in both the American League and the National League.

The selection of winners involves a combination of votes from MLB managers and coaches, along with the SABR Defensive Index. The awards cover nine standard positions in each league, and the recipients will be lauded for their exceptional defensive skills and contributions to their respective teams.

Where to Catch the Gold Glove Awards Action

For those eager to witness the crowning of the Gold Glove Award winners, look no further than ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight.” This is the premier destination for watching the prestigious awards unfold, revealing the best defensive players in Major League Baseball.

Baseball fans and enthusiasts can tune in to this event to see which players from both the American and National Leagues will be honored for their exceptional defensive abilities. The ceremony is an eagerly awaited annual spectacle in the world of baseball, celebrating the remarkable talent of these athletes on the field. Viewers can savor the broadcast as they watch the well-deserved accolades being bestowed upon the Gold Glove Award winners.


1. What are the Gold Glove Awards?

The Gold Glove Awards honor baseball players with exceptional defensive skills, recognizing their ability to catch and field the ball.

2. When did the Gold Glove Awards begin?

The Gold Glove Awards started in 1957 and have been a tradition in baseball ever since.

3. How are Gold Glove Award winners selected?

Winners are chosen by a combination of votes from MLB managers, coaches, and the SABR Defensive Index.

4. How many Gold Glove Awards are given in each league?

There are Gold Glove Awards for nine standard positions in both the American League and the National League.

5. When and where are the 2023 Gold Glove Awards winners announced?

The winners will be revealed on Sunday, November 5, at 7:30 p.m. ET on ESPN’s “Baseball Tonight.”

Get ready to witness the finest in baseball’s defensive prowess – mark your calendars for the 2023 Gold Glove Awards!

You may also like

Leave a Comment