Fielding Bible Awards 2023: From Diving Catches to Infield Gems!

by Manish
Fielding Bible Awards

In 2023, the baseball world witnessed the much-anticipated Fielding Bible Awards, an event that celebrates outstanding defensive performances in Major League Baseball. What sets these awards apart is their unique approach, considering not only statistical data but also expert opinions. The winners are chosen by a panel of 16 experts who meticulously assess various factors, including advanced metrics and their own observations of players’ skills. This combination of data-driven analysis and seasoned judgment provides a well-rounded perspective on defensive excellence in the world of baseball.

Recognizing the Best

The Fielding Bible Awards shine a spotlight on the crème de la crème of defensive players in various positions. This year’s winners include players who have demonstrated exceptional prowess in their respective roles during the MLB season. Let’s take a closer look at some of the outstanding players who received these prestigious awards.

Dansby Swanson: A Shortstop’s Excellence

Dansby Swanson, the talented shortstop of the Chicago Cubs, emerged as a standout player at the Fielding Bible Awards. His exceptional defense was evident as he led all shortstops with an impressive 18 Defensive Runs Saved. This accomplishment secured him the Fielding Bible Award for shortstop, a testament to his dedication and precision in the field.

Ke’Bryan Hayes: Defensive Player of the Year

The title of Defensive Player of the Year went to Ke’Bryan Hayes of the Pittsburgh Pirates. Hayes displayed his defensive brilliance at third base, earning recognition for his remarkable skills. His achievement underscores the importance of stellar defensive players in shaping a team’s success and their impact on the game.

Positional Excellence

The Fielding Bible Awards cover a wide array of positions, ensuring that players from every corner of the field receive their due recognition. Here are the winners in various positions:

– 1B: Christian Walker (Diamondbacks)
– 2B: Andrés Giménez (Guardians)
– 3B: Ke’Bryan Hayes (Pirates)
– SS: Dansby Swanson (Cubs)
– LF: Steven Kwan (Guardians)
– CF: Kevin Kiermaier (Blue Jays)
– RF: Fernando Tatis Jr. (Padres)
– C: Gabriel Moreno (Diamondbacks)
– P: Zack Greinke (Royals)
– Multi-Position: Mookie Betts (Dodgers)

The Selection Process

The Fielding Bible Awards are not just about recognizing talent; they also shed light on the meticulous selection process. The 16-member expert panel, comprising statisticians, baseball analysts, and seasoned players, votes on the best defensive players. This process takes into account advanced metrics and their own observations of player skills. Each first-place vote carries a weight of 10 points, resulting in a thorough evaluation of each player’s defensive performance.

The much-anticipated announcement of the award winners took place on October 26, 2023. This marked the 18th season of these prestigious awards, highlighting the enduring importance of recognizing exceptional defensive talents in Major League Baseball.

A Digital Celebration

In a departure from the traditional awards ceremonies, the Fielding Bible Awards for 2023 were announced through various online platforms and sports news channels. This digital approach made the announcement accessible to baseball enthusiasts from around the world. Fans were able to celebrate the exceptional defensive performances of their favorite players and acknowledge the dedication and talent that these awards represent.


The Fielding Bible Awards are not just accolades; they are a celebration of the unsung heroes of baseball. These awards recognize that defense is just as vital as offense in shaping a team’s success. They provide well-deserved recognition to players who excel in their respective positions and contribute significantly to their team’s performance.

So, as we celebrate the winners of the Fielding Bible Awards 2023, let’s remember that in baseball, as in life, excellence in defense is an art form that deserves our applause and appreciation.


1. What are the Fielding Bible Awards?

The Fielding Bible Awards recognize outstanding defensive performances in Major League Baseball.

2. How are the winners chosen?

A panel of 16 experts, including statisticians and baseball analysts, vote on the best defensive players, considering advanced metrics and their observations.

3. Who won the Fielding Bible Award for shortstop in 2023?

Dansby Swanson of the Chicago Cubs won the Fielding Bible Award for shortstop in 2023.

4. Who was named the Defensive Player of the Year?

Ke’Bryan Hayes of the Pittsburgh Pirates was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year.

5. Why are the Fielding Bible Awards significant?

These awards spotlight the best defensive talents in MLB, recognizing players’ dedication, precision, and impact on the game, contributing to team success.

You may also like

Leave a Comment